SC10 Conference to Honor Recipients of 2010 Awards for
Excellence, Leadership in High Performance Computing

NEW ORLEANS, La.—Every November, 10,000 of the world’s experts in high performance computing, networking, storage and analytics convene at the SC conference to gain new insights into how supercomputing is shaping the future of discovery. And each year at the SC conference, several of these experts are honored for their leadership in the field. At SC10, to be held Nov. 13-19 in New Orleans, the IEEE Computer Society and the Association for Computing Machinery will present three of their highest honors on Wednesday, Nov. 17, then recognize achievements by conference attendees during a Thursday, Nov. 18 Awards Session.

James Demmel to Receive 2010 IEEE Computer Society’s Sidney Fernbach Award

James W. Demmel, a professor of mathematics and computer science at the University of California, Berkeley, is the recipient of the 2010 IEEE Computer Society Sidney Fernbach Award for his contributions to high-performance linear algebra software. Demmel, who holds the Dr. Richard Carl Dehmel Distinguished Professorship of Engineering at UC Berkeley,  is the founding chair of the graduate group in Computational Science and Engineering at UC Berkeley, which includes 117 participating faculty from 22 departments. Demmel also has a joint appointment as a member of the Future Technologies Group at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

He received the award "for computational science leadership in creating adaptive, innovative, high-performance linear algebra software." Involved in the design and development of algorithms and mathematical software for the past two decades, Demmel is known for his work on LAPACK and ScaLAPACK, which form the standard mathematical libraries for AMD, Apple (under Mac OS X), Cray, Fujitsu, Hitachi, HP, IBM, IMSL/Rogue Wave, Intel, InteractiveSupercomputing, several Linux distributions (including Debian), Mathworks (MATLAB), NAG, NEC, PGI, and SGI. Read more.

Alan Gara Receives 2010 IEEE Computer Society Seymour Cray Award

Alan Gara, chief system architect for the three generations of Blue Gene supercomputers, has been awarded the IEEE Computer Society’s 2010 Seymour Cray Award. An IBM Fellow at the T.J. Watson Research Center in Yorktown, NY, since 2006, Gara now leads IBM’s exascale system research. He is being honored for his "innovations in low power, densely packaged supercomputing systems."

Affiliated with the T.J. Watson Research Center since 1999, Gara holds a Ph.D. in theoretical physics from University of Wisconsin, Madison. He received Gordon Bell prizes in 1998 and 2006 for his scientific work in supercomputing. In addition, the Blue Gene supercomputer received a national medal of technology and innovation in 2009.

Gara served as technical project leader and chief system architect for the BlueGene systems design, which represented a radical reconceptualization of distributed memory parallel systems. Gara not only conceived the low power BlueGene design, but was the driving force behind its realization. Read more.

David Kuck Receives ACM IEEE Computer Society Ken Kennedy Award

The second annual ACM-IEEE Computer Society Ken Kennedy Award will go to Intel Fellow David Kuck for advances to compiler technology and parallel computing that have improved the cost-effectiveness of multiprocessor computing. In this era of multicore architectures and petascale supercomputers, Kuck’s contributions have been critical in adapting software to effectively use new hardware. The Kennedy Award also cited him for the widespread inspiration of his teaching and mentoring.

Kuck’s pioneering techniques are incorporated in every optimizing compiler in use today. His impact spans  four decades and embraces a broad range of areas, including computer architecture design and evaluation, compiler technology, programming languages, and algorithms. During his career, he influenced the design of the Illiac IV, Burroughs BSP, Alliant FX, and Cedar parallel computers. Kuck & Associates Inc. (KAI), the company Kuck founded in 1979, produced a line of industry-standard optimizing compilers that focused on exploiting parallelism. When KAI was acquired by Intel In March 2000, Kuck led the KAI Software Lab, a leading provider of performance-oriented compilers and programming tools used in the development of multithreaded applications.  Multithreaded applications enable more efficient computing by spreading application workloads over multiple central processing units. Read more.

SC10 Conference Awards

The SC10 Awards Session, to be held at 12:30 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 18 , will also recognize achievements by conference attendees. Awards to be presented during this session are:

About SC10

SC10, sponsored by IEEE Computer Society and ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) offers a complete technical education program and exhibition to showcase the many ways high performance computing, networking, storage and analysis lead to advances in scientific discovery, research, education and commerce. This premier international conference includes a globally attended technical program, workshops, tutorials, a world class exhibit area, demonstrations and opportunities for hands‐on learning. For more information on SC10, please visit