Nominations for 2010 Cray, Fernbach and Kennedy Awards
Due July 1

Supercomputing Community's Leading Awards Honor Exceptional Contributions to
High Performance Computing

New Orleans, LA – May 27, 2010 - Nominations for the 2010 Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award, the Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award, and the Ken Kennedy Award are now being accepted, with a final submission deadline of Thursday, July 1, 2010. These awards will be presented during the SC2010 conference on high performance computing, networking, storage and analysis to be held Nov. 13-19 in New Orleans.

Established in 1997, the IEEE Computer Society Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award recognizes innovative contributions to high performance computing systems that best exemplify the creative spirit demonstrated by Seymour Cray (click to learn more about Cray). One of computing's most prestigious awards, winners receive a crystal memento, an illuminated certificate, and a $10,000 honorarium. Past winners have included notables such as Kenichi Miura, Steve Wallach, Bill Dally, and John Hennessy.

The IEEE Computer Society Sidney Fernbach Award was established in 1992 in honor of Sidney Fernbach. A certificate and $2,000 are awarded for outstanding contributions in the application of high performance computers; past winners include William D. Gropp, Edward Seidel, and Jack J. Dongarra.

The ACM/IEEE Ken Kennedy Award, established in 2009, is presented for outstanding contributions to programmability or productivity in computing, together with significant community service or mentoring contributions. Awardees are presented with a certificate and a $5,000 honorarium. The inaugural award was presented to Francine Berman at SC09 last year for her leadership in building national-scale cyberinfrastructure.

Links to nomination forms and submission information for these awards can be found on the SC10 website at In addition to information about the nominee, nominations for these awards require a minimum of two or three endorsements, which must also be submitted by July 1.

For more information, see

About SC10

SC10, sponsored by IEEE Computer Society and ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) offers a complete technical education program and exhibition to showcase the many ways high performance computing, networking, storage and analysis lead to advances in scientific discovery, research, education and commerce. This premier international conference includes a globally attended technical program, workshops, tutorials, a world class exhibit area, demonstrations and opportunities for hands-on learning. For more information on SC10, please visit: