SC is the International Conference for
 High Performnance Computing, Networking, Storage and Analysis

SCHEDULE: NOV 13-19, 2010

Petascale Direct Numerical Simulation of Blood Flow on 200K Cores and Heterogeneous Architectures

SESSION: ACM Gordon Bell Finalist Presentation II

EVENT TYPE: ACM Gordon Bell Finalist

TIME: 2:00PM - 2:30PM

SESSION CHAIR: Thom H. Dunning, Jr.

AUTHOR(S):Abtin Rahimian, Ilya Lashuk, Shravan Veerapaneni, Aparna Chandramowlishwaran, Dhairya Malhotra, Logan Moon, Rahul Sampath, Aashay Shringarpure, Jeffrey Vetter, Richard Vuduc, Denis Zorin, George Biros


We present a high fidelity numerical simulation of blood flow by directly resolving the interactions of 200 million deformable red blood cells flowing in plasma. This simulation amounts to 90 billion unknowns in space, with numerical experiments typically requiring O(1000) time steps. In terms of the number of cells, we improve the state-of-the art by several orders of magnitude: the previous largest simulation, at the same physical fidelity as ours, resolved the flow of 14 thousand cells. This breakthrough is based on novel algorithms that we designed to enable distributed memory, shared memory, and vectorized/streaming parallelism. We present results on CPU and hybrid CPU-GPU platforms, including the new NVIDIA Fermi architecture and 200,000 cores of ORNL's Jaguar system. For the latter, we achieve over 0.7 Petaflop/s sustained performance. Our work demonstrates the successful simulation of complex phenomena using heterogeneous architectures and programming models at the petascale.

Chair/Author Details:

Thom H. Dunning, Jr. (Chair) - National Center for Supercomputing Applications

Abtin Rahimian - Georgia Institute of Technology

Ilya Lashuk - Georgia Institute of Technology

Shravan Veerapaneni - New York University

Aparna Chandramowlishwaran - Georgia Institute of Technology

Dhairya Malhotra - Georgia Institute of Technology

Logan Moon - Georgia Institute of Technology

Rahul Sampath - Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Aashay Shringarpure - Georgia Institute of Technology

Jeffrey Vetter - Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Richard Vuduc - Georgia Institute of Technology

Denis Zorin - New York University

George Biros - Georgia Institute of Technology

Add to iCal  Click here to download .ics calendar file

Add to Outlook  Click here to download .vcs calendar file

Add to Google Calendarss  Click here to add event to your Google Calendar

The full paper can be found in the ACM Digital Library and IEEE Computer Society

   Sponsors    IEEE    ACM